by Miss Elliot

readingblogspot

“If anyone should ask for me, I will be in my library, not to be disturbed.”

~Mr. Bennet, Pride and Prejudice the Movie 1995

I love books. They tell stories of wonderful adventures, far-off places, daring sword fights, magic spells, princes in disguise- hey, this is starting to sound like a song

Books can take you places you’ve never been. They can show you truths. They can take you back to the American Revolution, the discovering of America, the time of King Arthur, or even to the time of the Israelites before the birth of Christ.

This is so true.

This. Is. True. 

Sadly, books are not appreciated as much today. I’m not talking about modern books (the Amish romances and “adult” or “young adult” fiction {ick, there’s nothing worse. I’m shuddering just thinking about it}); I mean the really good old classics and authors- Jane Eyre, Little Women, Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, C. S. Lewis, G. K. Chesterton… the list goes on. (Disclaimer: I am not intending to bash modern books/authors and I certainly don’t want to discourage anyone today who wants to write a book {after all, am I Tolstoy or Lewis or Jane Austen?} and there are several modern books I’ve read and enjoyed muchly. But I do think that you’re safer in the realm of older books in general, as far as fiction goes. There is some scary stuff out there, and other stuff that’s not so much wicked-bad, as just kitsch stuff- badly/cheaply written. End of Disclaimer.)

God had many ways He could have shown His will to His people, but He chose a Book- the Bible- which is why Christians are called “People of the Book” (read Gene Edward Veith’s Reading Between the Lines for more on this). It reminds me of the monks in the Middle Ages. People in those days didn’t care very much about reading- that sort of stuff was for the priests. So the church was the guardian of the books. The monks would copy out the books by hand, bit by bit. They preserved books and reading and “book-learning”, and perhaps without them, the light of literature would have gone out.

Here are five books I’ve been reading (with pictures of the covers ’cause everyone likes pictures).

7menblogspot

1. Seven Men (And the Secret of Their Greatness) by Eric Metaxas

 

thecallingblogspot

2. The Calling by Brother Andrew 

 

radical womanhood blogspot

3. Radical Womanhood: Feminine Faith in a Feminist World by Carolyn McCulley

 

theprincessbrideblogspot

4. The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure by William Goldman

 

marraigeandthefamilyblogspot

5. Marriage and the Family: Biblical Essentials by Andreas Kostenberger

turnyourbackbookblogspot

 

~

