A Guest Post from Margaret

flower6

Hello everyone! This is Miss Elliot. Today I’ve decided to invite a guest to PuritanObserver. Her name is Margaret von Sittingen. She only speaks the German of the 1500’s, so I have to translate for her (but she can understand me when I speak to her, even in English). She’s exactly my age and looks a wee bit like me, but she’s much prettier!

That’s not true.

Yes, it certainly is. You’re just being nice. Anyways, I’ll ask Margaret some questions, and I’ll be in italics and she’ll be in…umm, regular. I’m trying to find out more about Margaret, because I am not searching as much as I should be as a writer, and she is not revealing anything about her character to me, except that she’s nice. So, say hello, Margaret!

Guten Tag to all who read this!

So, Margaret, tell us a little about yourself!

Well, what do you want to know?

Margaret, please don’t be difficult. Just the basic stuff, like your age, where you live, who your family is, and so on.

All right! I’m fourteen years old. I don’t know exactly when my birthday is, we don’t really keep track of that kind of thing. I live in Jueterbock- at least for now. Rac-

No no Margaret! It’s Miss Elliot on the blog!

Oh, sorry. Miss Elliot hasn’t really planned that part of the story. She’s really bad with plots. She just starts writing- you should see all the stories she only has one page of.

Margaret!!

All right, all right. (But it’s true. She doesn’t even know how my story is going to turn out, and I can’t remember for some reason.) Anyway, back to the question. I live in Jueterbock, it’s a town that’s twenty miles away from Wittenburg.

Margaret, don’t use commas to connect two sentences.

I wasn’t! You’re the one writing this!

But… oh, I guess you’re right.

Anyway, Jueterbock is several miles away from the border of Saxony. I’m not sure exactly how many. I live in a house with my father Martin, my mother Louisa (her name might change, Ra- I mean Miss Elliot is so indecisive)…

Margaret!! Please!!

…my brother Hans, he’s ten years old, and the new little one, we don’t know if it’s going to be a boy or a girl. And that’s my family!

Is there anything happening in your life that you’re excited about?

Yes, of course, and you know there is, Miss Elliot!

No, I mean for the readers.

Well, for one thing, we’re going to Wittenburg to visit Oma and Opa von Bora for All Saint’s Day! I am so excited, and so is Hans. And, of course, I cannot wait for the baby to be born! I only have one brother, you know.

Do you want it to be a boy or a girl?

I’m not sure. I would like a little sister, but a boy would be wonderful too.

Do you like your life?

Do I what?

Like your life. You know, are you content to stay at home in Jueterbock doing what you’re doing?

Yes. But I think Miss Elliot has other plans…

Shhh, Margaret, you’re giving it away!

I am not. After all, for a story to be a story, there has to be something bad that happens. Like in the story of Rapunzel, there’s an evil witch that… oh well, you get the idea.

Are you a Christian?

A what?

Do you believe in Jesus Christ?

Ummm, no. I don’t really know who He is. I am basically a good person, so I think I’ll get to heaven. But I’m not sure. But I might become a Christian later on, if Miss Elliot-

Margaret! This is your last chance! No spoilers!!

Sorry. I don’t think I’m helping you, Miss Elliot.

Not really, but you are proving yourself to be mischievous.

I am helping you!!!

Okay, now Margaret’s going to answer the questions in a tag, because she’s causing trouble. Here we go!

Do I have to?

Yes, you do.

Would You Rather…

1. Eat a hot dog for desert or a hamburger?

What’s a hot dog? And a hamburger?

It’s meat.

Oh. We don’t get to eat meat very often. It’s expensive.

2. Wear all blue and run around screaming “IT’S BLUE DAY!” or wear all green and run around screaming, “IT’S GREEN DAY!”?

What? I don’t wear blue. Or green.

3. Drink milk all day or orange juice?
What’s orange juice?
4. Have a pet cobra or shark?
??? Miss Elliot, help!!
It’s okay, you don’t have to.
5. Eat or sleep?
Sleep. I’m always tired.
6. Play guitar or piano?
I don’t really understand some of these. What is a piano?
7. Have a painful sunburn or step in a pile of needles?
Have a painful sunburn.
8. Go fishing or scuba diving?
Fishing. I don’t know what scuba diving is, and Father used to take Hans and I to the river to fish. Several years ago.
He did???
Yes. He did.
9. Go shopping with a frilly tutu on or an elegant ball gown?
What’s a tutu?
10. Never see the dentist or doctor again?
They’re the same thing. My father pulls teeth, mends broken legs and cracked heads..
Yuck, Margaret!
…and that sort of thing.
11. Would you rather be extremely attractive or be married to some one who is extremely attractive?
Be married to someone who is extremely attractive. There aren’t many mirrors around here.
12. Would you rather be ”just friends” with someone you love or marry an attractive person who does not love you?
Well, I don’t know. I guess be just friends with someone I love. I’m only fourteen though!
13. Would you rather send Jane Austen a copy of Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters orPride and Prejudice and Zombies?
Who’s Jane Austen??
Okay, let’s finish this up. Thank you so much Margaret!!
You’re welcome. But be warned, oh readers of this brog…
It’s bLog!!
Oh yes. Anyway, be warned! I might come in next time with a completely different personality!!
Margaret, you get over here right now!!! What do you mean by that?!!! MARGARET!!
~
Leave a Reply

