by Miss Elliot

*Edit*: This post, FYI, was started three or four days ago. I am an offical procrastinator. But I still like The Sound of Music. *End of edit*

Since everyone has seen The Sound of Music, there is no point in writing/typing a review. (Plus a review would take too long, etc. etc.) So… a ‘what I love and why’ post is the order of the day.

The Sound of Music. Well.

We watched this movie on the Friday and Saturday of last week. I guess I’d forgotten how good it was, and I was absolutely blown away. Wow. Of course, there were some things that I realized were… not good… for the first time (like certain sixteen-year-olds in gazebos dancing on the benches with certain seventeen-year-olds. Heh. More on that later).

Oh, and there will be a bajillion pictures. And spoilers. Oh yes.

~The scenery. Wow. Guys, they actually shot this film in Austria. Some of that footage over mountains and hills and castles and old churches is literally breathtaking. And the old house they shot in is so beautiful!! The stairs. The ballroom. (Why have a ballroom without any balls? Ahem.) The grounds. (By the way, the lake is not actually in the back of the house that is the von Trapps’ home. They just filmed scenes at both locations and mixed them together. Did you want to know that? No, you didn’t.) Something tells me that I am starting to sound weird.

~The lack of language. This is the third highest grossing movie of all time!! and there is not a single swear word! (Or anything else suggestive or violent.) MODERN MOVIE MAKERS, TAKE NOTICE.

~The characters.

Basically after watching TSoM, I wanted to be a nun. But really, all the characters are stellar – not to mention the actors.

Did I mention I love the Baroness? I mean, I love Eleanor Parker. I definitely don’t love Elsa Schrader.

~The actors. Julie Andrews first. Oh yes. Then Christopher Plummer, Eleanor Parker, Richard Haydn (yes yes yes), all of the children, Peggy Wood, Anna Lee…

I suppose one of the best things about TSoM is the theme of reconciliation: Captain von Trapp and his children being together again. One of the things I realized while watching it this time was that the Baroness, if she had married the Captain, would have separated the children even more from their father. They were brought close in part because of Maria, and the Baroness would have sent the children away and there would have been a huge rift. That’s where Maria is the contrast: she loves the children with all her heart (and Captain von Trapp as well) and she wants what’s best for them, not her.

But, the Baroness has soooo many delicious lines that I don’t find myself cringing in a here-comes-the-villian-to-do-something-bad way. (Well, there are a few times when she is especially mean. And she basically thinks of the children as nuisances.)

“Darling. Haven’t you ever heard of a delightful little thing called boarding school?”

By the way, all of Max and Elsa’s conversations are sooo hilarious!! I’ve heard that Max’s lines weren’t scripted – Richard Haydn just sort of made things up as he went along. “Oh, dear, I like rich people. I like the way they live. I like the way I live when I’m with them.” “Just too, ummm, pink.” Ha. I like Max.

~The songs in this movie – and the music in general. Obviously. This is the best musical I’ve ever seen (no, I haven’t seen Les Mis yet) and the songs are delectable. If I had to pick a favorite it would be…umm… wow. What would it be?

*six hours later*

Well, I’ll just go with I Have Confidence. Is it my favorite? Hmmmm. Let’s just say it is.

(Of course, it wasn’t six hours. Ha. But just don’t ask me to name my favorite song from TSoM. No.)

I said before that there were some things that I realized for the first time. This, for example:

Veddy veddy bad quality picture. Sorry.

Again, this was something I realized for the first time. Before it was just kind of la-di-da-so-cute-the-gazebo-dance-with-Rolfe. I would try to dance their dance in our arbor in the back yard. And everywhere. And so on. But for some reason, this time it clicked: What in the world is she doing out there alone at night with a young man? She’s sixteen years old, for crying out loud! For some reason that never struck me before, and so I had missed one of the points of the film – the Captain was so detached from his family that he didn’t even know about Liesl and Rolfe.

Ugghh, where are the good quality pictures? Where?

(But it’s still cute.)

Something Else that was slightly different this time around was the scene in the gazebo with Maria and the Captain.

While I still don’t like ‘Something Good’, I found myself saying ‘awwww’ more this time. I don’t know why…perhaps I’m becoming a sentimental teenager. Ahem.

Miss Bennet and I watched the extras on the DVD a few years back, and I remember one conversation between Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer. Apparently that scene was almost laughed off the screen – and I can understand. It’s just soooo long. But one of the producers, I think it was, somehow kept it in the final cut. So… I dunno.

(Oh, and by the way, we have a name for this scene in our family that I will not tell you, because you will hate me forever. Ahem.)

~The costumes.

Ohhh, that dress…

It’s funny: while most of the clothes in the film aren’t glamorous or spectacular, they are beautiful in their own way because of their simplicity and modesty, like Maria’s dress above. The Baroness is pretty much the only one in the film who wears any low necklines.

I can’t help feeling sorry for the Baroness in this scene. She has enjoyed every moment they’ve had together; she does thank him for that.

Moving on (and a random cute picture of the Captain and the Baroness)-

I love that red ensemble she’s wearing in this scene. And the pearls. Yep.

Oh, a wedding… I love weddings! 🙂

So, Maria and the Captain get married, and they all live happily ever after in his lovely big house. Right?

Wrong.

That’s one of the things I like about this movie: it doesn’t just end with the wedding. (That’s what I love about Jane Austen’s books, by the way. Ha.) It goes on to shows the married life of Maria and the Captain.

“We’ve got to get out of Austria – and this house – tonight.”

The Nazis invaded Austria, and the von Trapps were right in the middle of it. And everyone knows what happens after that.

Random picture time.

You have no idea how many times I’ve attempted to dance this by myself. But, of course, I NEVER EVER do that sort of thing now. *innocent face* What?

One of my favorite things…

 

Oh, the beautiful scenery…

Hmmm.

Oops. We got caught.

So now I guess there’s just one more thing to say:

So long, farewell, auf wiedersein, goodbye!

 

 

 

 

 

