Tags

, ,

by Miss Elliot

Annnnd we’re back with the second in the series. And not too late, either (*fistpump*) in spite of school and gooooood books, like War Horse (guys, they KILL Tom Hiddleston Captain Nicholls and GAHHH THE FEELS) and Spindle’s End (anyone else a Robin McKinley fan?).

(And I want to apologize in advance for the amount of pictures in this post. Oh wait, do I apologize?)

So yeah. Anyways…

the best Christmas movie of all time…

It’s a Wonderful Life

I don’t think there’s anyone who disagrees with me on this – IAWL (as it will be abbreviated henceforth from now on) is so sweet, clean, and meaningful that it will always win. And Jimmy Stewart, y’know. And Donna Reid. Ummm-hmmm.

iawlno4

*something in my eye*

We watched this with my great-aunt when she was in town before Christmas, and my mum mom and dad actually sat through the whole thing with us.

iawlno12

One of the things that really struck me (us) about it this year was the many times George Bailey sacrificed for other people. He dreamed of going to college, but he gave it up for his father’s failing buisness. He wanted to travel, but he gave it up for a humdrum life in Bedford Falls.

iawlno1

(And by the way, the version *we* have is the color version. *ducks rotten tomatoes* Come on, it’s not my fault. I’m seein’ in colorrrr… :-p)

iawlno3

There is such a plethora of great characters in this movie – I think we quote Annie’s “it’s about time you lunkheads said it” line at least twice a day. Snorrrt.

iawlno9

Awww, youth is wasted on the wrong people.

One of my favorite scenes is that one up there. ^^ We can quote it backwards and forwards, round and round, including facial expressions and hand motions… Am I talking too much?

“YES. Why don’t you kiss her instead of talking her to death?”

iawlno10

THIS SCENE.

Mary Hatch-Bailey is one of the most amazing women I know. (I mean, as far as fictional characters go, heehee.) She loves her family and doesn’t care that George doesn’t have much money. She’s spunky and innovative – she fixes up an old ramshackle house and turns it into a home.

(And she’s also really pretty. Which doesn’t really matter, but it helps. ;-))

*using Kleenex vigorously*

*using Kleenex vigorously*

I won’t spoil it, but the ending – oh my stars and cumberbuns.

iawlno7

But I have to go. I’ve been nominated for membership of the National Geographic Society.

"I haven't seen that one." "Of course you haven't seen this one. Only us explorers get it."

“I haven’t seen that one.”
“Of course you haven’t seen this one. Only us explorers get it.”

Go watch it. If you haven’t, that is. Merry Christmas, everyone. 🙂

 

