Tags

,

by Miss Elliot

{Here’s part two! You can read part one here.}

“Has your sister Jeanine grown any since January? Is she going to be as tall as me?” asked Carrie.

“I think so,” replied Will. “She is now about Lizzy’s height, or maybe a bit taller.”

“I really want to see her again! I like her so much. She’s so pretty, and so friendly. And she’s so talented for her age. She plays the piano like a professional,” Carrie went on.

“Yeah, it’s so amazing to me that girls have enough patience to be so… well, accomplished, as you all are!” said Charlie.

“What do you mean, all girls are accomplished?” asked Carrie, frowning.

“Well, you all have cute blogs, have several Pinterest boards, and sing Les Mis. I don’t know any girl that can’t do that, and I never, met any girl without someone mentioning her blog or her Pinterest boards.”

“Yes, I am afraid that is the only thing people think of when they say ‘accomplished’,” said Will. “Most people only think of Pinterest boards and blogs. But I don’t agree with you about girls in general. I don’t know more than five or six who are actually ‘accomplished’.”

“Neither do I,” agreed Carrie.

“Then,” said Lizzy, “you must think a girl has to do a lot more to be truly ‘accomplished’.”

“Yes, I do,” said Will.

“Of course,” said Carrie. “No girl is truly ‘accomplished’ unless she posts on her blog at least once a week, replies to every single comment in depth, plays at least one instrument, and can sing other things besides Les Miserables. And it helps if she’s been in a play…”

“Well, and to all this a girl must add somethin else – she must read actual books,” said Will.

“I’m not surprised any more at your knowing only five or six girls like that. Now I’m surprised at your knowing any,” said Lizzy.

“Do you think so badly of girls like you as to doubt that there are such girls?” asked Will.

I never ment such a girl. I never saw such accomplishments combined,” said Lizzy.

Loo and Carrie both emphatically disagreed with her, and said so. Then Tom complained that they weren’t paying any attention to the game. The others turned back to the game, and Lizzy soon left the room.

“Lizzy Bennet,” said Carrie when Lizzy was gone, “is one of those girls who want to make themselves look good to men by making other girls look bad, and with some men I guess it works. But it’s so underhanded.”

“Yes,” said Will. “Everything is underhanded when you’re seeking to captivate someone’s heart.”

Carrie was not as happy at this as she would have liked to be.”

 

